# FACULTY DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2008-2009

Roy Ginsberg, Professor of Government Kate Leavitt, FDC Chair, Associate Professor of Art

### Changes in Guidelines & Practices

FDC introduced some minor changes in our guidelines and practices that will help facilitate the process of reviewing and awarding grants. Updated applications and guidelines will be available on-line at the beginning of the fall 2009 semester.

### FEC's Charge to Examine Faculty Involvement

At FEC's request, FDC discussed faculty representation on the committee. Members of FDC were in agreement that the four faculty seats on FDC were indeed of great importance, and that the committee does not recommend lowering the number of faculty on FDC. The distribution of the

## **Faculty Development Grant Recipients Fall 2008**

Paul Arciero, Associate Professor, Exercise Science

### David Wildermuth, Lecturer, Foreign Languages & Literatures

**Faculty Development Grant Recipients Spring 2009** 

**Faculty Research Initiative Grants** 

Rubén Graciani, Assistant Professor, Dance

Marla Segol, Assistant Professor, Philosophy & Religion

Shirley Smith, Associate Professor, Foreign Languages & Literatures

**Faculty Development Grants** 

Lisa Aronson, Associate Professor, Art History

Diana Barnes, Visiting Assistant Professor, Foreign Languages & Literatures

Alma Becker, Senior Artist-in-Residence, Theater

Kristie Ford, Assistant Professor, Sociology, Anthropolgy & Social Work

Benjamin Given, Assistant Professor, Music

Catherine Golden, Professor, English

Kate Greenspan, Associate Professor, English

**Matthew Hockenos, Associate Professor, History** 

Anthony Holland, Associate Professor, Music

Victoria Palermo, Visiting Assistant Professor, Art

Monica Raveret-Richter, Associate Professor, Biology

Timothy Stablein, Lecturer, Sociology, Anthropology & Social Work

Mary Stange, Professor, Philosophy and Religion

Marc-Andre Wiesmann, Associate Professor, Foreign Languages & Literatures

David Domozych, Professor, Biology Dawn Harfmann '10

Michael Eckmann, Assistant Professor, Math & Computer Science

Thomas O'Connell, Associate Professor, Math & Computer Science Ari Morse '09

Mehmet Odekon, Professor, Economics Xanthe Burton '10 Evan Warshaw '10

Bernard Possidente, Professor, Biology Molly Kidder '10

Pushkala Prasad, Professor, Management & Business Kelly Baker '10

Thomas H. Reynolds, Assistant Professor, Exercise Science Maria DiSanto-Rose '11 Erin Merrell '10

Robert Turner, Associate Professor, Government Nick Hara '11

Rachel Roe-Dale, Assistant Professor, Math & Computer Science Emese Lipcsey-Magyar '10

Sue VanHook, Senior Teaching Associate, Biology Gordon MacPherson '12

**Schupf Scholar Program** 

Thomas H. Reynolds, Assistant Professor, Exercise Science Megan Gaugler '12 David Domozych, Professor, Biology Korena Burgio '11

Catherine Gibson, Assistant Professor, Environmental Studies Evan Caster '11

Mary Odekon, Associate Professor, Physics James Turner '11

axies:

**Scribner-Mellon Scholar Projects** 

Sarah Goodwin, Professor, English Stephen Bissonnette '12

Aiwu Zhao, Visiting Instructor, Management & Business Alexander Brehm '12

### **Faculty Research Initiative Grants**

Ruben Graciani, Assistant Professor, Dance

Marla Segol, Assistant Profesor, Philosophy & Religion

Shirley Smith, Associate Professor, Foreign Languages & Literature

### **Edwin M. Moseley Faculty Lectureship**

Reg Lilly, Professor, Philosophy & Religion

The Ralph A. Ciancio Award for Excellence in Teaching

Mary Lynn, Douglas Family Professor of American Culture, American Studies