## Curriculum Committee Annual Report 2009-2010

2009-2010 Membership Denise Limoli, Dance Pat Fehling, Exercise Science Timothy Harper Lisa Aronson Sylvia McDermott, Fall 2009 Mary Campa, Spring, 2010 Muriel Poston Michael Ennis-McMillan Ann Henderson Anita Harris Sadie Kitchen, Student Representative

The Curriculum Committee met on a weekly basis throughout the 2009-2010 academic year. During the year, the Curriculum Committee reviewed a total of approximately 169 proposals\*, which included 26 proposals for new courses; 43 proposal requests for revisions to academic majors and minors; 91

courses (including proposed changes in title, credits and prerequisites); and the review of approximately seven new or existing Scribner Seminars.

Significant among these proposals were proposed writing in the major requirements for 17 academic departm major revisions of the Art History and Sociology majors; and the elimination of a significant number of int

issues during this academic year including:

- 1) Refining the Writing Requirement Review and Feedback Process.
- 2) FEC Committee Structure Final Recommendation.

respect to creating a more positive perception of the committee and its work.

I would also like to thank Jill Jones, from the Office of the Dean of Studies, for all the invaluable support she provided throughout the year. My gratitude is extended to Ann Henderson, Anita Harris and Michael Ennis-McMillan for their collaborative efforts and spirit during my two years as CC Chair.

I also would like to

Determined Major Subcommittee for the past three years. Michael and the SDMS made huge strides working with students and streamlining the SDM submission, internal and external communication and review processes. The newly created SDM website has been highly beneficial to prospective and current SDM students as well as faculty advisors. Finally, positive CC outcomes achieved the past two years can also be partly attributed to effective communication and positive interactions with Muriel Poston and Patricia Rubio

Lisa Aronson, Art History will chair the Curriculum Committee during the 2010-2011 academic year.